Abstract Art Lovers

ART PRINTS

Posted on: January 15, 2009

Quickie Art Primer
I present a Quickie Art Primer to understand the difference between various types of Art Prints. It is more important for buyer to understand the difference. But this knowledge is equally useful for the Artist to make better use of his prints. Let us learn the difference between Multiple Originals, Original Prints and Reproductive Prints and become an informed art buyer.

Singular Original Works of Art
Most collectors understand and feel knowledgeable when speaking of singular original works of art — paintings, pencil drawings, pen and inks, acrylics, watercolors, etc. Here the artist has created one work of art with his own hand. The surface might be paper or canvas or even masonite.

Multiple Originals
A bit more complicated are Multiple Originals…commonly called Original Prints. Traditionally, the artist creates a master image for the purpose of making a small number of prints that he will sign and number. The master image might be created upon a block, stone, plate or screen — any of which assists in conveying the image to the print surface. See chart detailing the differences in woodcuts, etchings, lithographs, and serigraphs or silkscreens.

Vehicles To Produce Original Prints
The blocks, plates, stones and screens cannot be considered originals. They are just vehicles to produce Original Prints.

Reproductive Prints
Next there are Reproductive Prints. The artist has produced an original work…and photograph technology and automated printing equipment create reproductions. Fine art print reproductions are usually signed and numbered in limited editions and care must be exercised so they remain in mint condition in order to preserve their value. Click the link above the view a diagram.

Advanced Process
A similar, but much advanced process, creates giclées — the state of the art prints now taking the art collecting world to a whole new level.

Rajinder S Bedi, President,
Abstract Art Lovers
All Indian Artists In The World
Facebook Groups.

1 Response to "ART PRINTS"

All tips for artist…well me are greatly accepted…I feel like i have something to paint i sketch it beautifully and then I paint…It turns out different than I want…I think I am trying to hard….Practice practice …Right !

I found a reason to paint…surviving breast cancer…and support all kind of cancer…then I saw the violence/ war torn countries and am able to write about that…but not paint…we will see.

I am trying not to get discouraged…I am looking for my style of painting …I have so much to share…I love my piece of Heaven Collection, but want to get away from land scape…

Well I really appreciate the tips…PEACE!

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Limousine Service in Frisco: You are so awesome! I don't believe I have read through something like this before. So nice to discover someone with some original thoughts on this su
  • Vernita: Hello just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren't loading correctly. I'm not sure why but I think i
  • Lee: I'm not entirely sure about the material quality being all that necessary. A child first learns to draw with Crayola crayons, and those have been see

Categories